Break Your Silence – Speech Delivered at the Award Ceremony of the Inaugural Walter Rodney Foundation Creative Writing Competition

WithoutWax

In the company of very few, I delivered the following address at the Award Ceremony of the Inaugural Walter Rodney Foundation Creative Writing Competition. Minister of Culture Frank Anthony sat alongside UG’s Dr. Mark Tumbridge in an otherwise empty front row . Guyana Prize winner Ruel Johnson sat with two or three others in the back row. And when the words left my mouth, they greeted a very silent, somewhat shocked and somber audience on May 14, 2014 in the Education Lecture Theatre, University of Guyana, Turkeyen Campus. When the question/discussion time came at the end only Johnson, the prose winner Subraj Singh, Dr. Tumbridge and I spoke. Everyone was silent and the Minister left immediately after.

I wish I could wish you a good afternoon. I really do wish. But I believe that if I could hear souls whisper, and if Dr. Rodney’s soul stood next to me then…

View original post 707 more words

Leave a Reply

