Why are women and girls falling out of our HIV response?

One nation…many bodies…boundless faith

Why are women and girls falling out of our HIV response?

Though the core of my career has been spent working in HIV, in recent years I’ve refocused that effort on what we call sexual citizenship, fighting to make sure people are valued and included and taken care of in our society, regardless to their sexuality. It’s what the national public knows me best for. That usually means fighting public officials and politicians to understand why gay men are as important as straight women.

But I got appointed to a regional HIV body recently. And at my first meeting in that role, I found myself in a really queer position—a bit alone fighting regional HIV advocates and officials to pay more attention to women and girls. I wasn’t really being a noble champion; a lot of it was self-interest.

If we aren’t solving HIV risk for girls, we certainly…

View original post 778 more words

Leave a Reply

